Records

The Pitkin County Sheriff's Office (PCSO) Records Department is responsible for the retention of Sheriff records for PCSO; as well as the release of information to the public, courts, other law enforcement agencies and insurance companies.

Miscellaneous Fees
The PCSO Records Department charges a reasonable fee for copies of Sheriff reports, traffic accident reports, communications recordings and other services. Effective January 1, 2009, the fees are as follows:
Item
Fee
Accident Reports Obtained from records office
$7.00
Accident Reports Obtained online through TracView
$12.00
Case Reports per search, plus per copied page fee
$7.00
per copied page
$0.25
Criminal Arrest History, per search
$7.00
Photograph Copies: mug shots
$5.00
Photograph CD, per CD
$15.00
Video DVD, per DVD
$15.00
Dispatch Audio Recording, per CD
$15.00
Communications Search, per hour 
$25.00
Microfilm Copy, per search, plus per copied page fee
$10.00
per copied microfilm page
$2.00

Acceptable methods of payment are cash, check, Visa, or MasterCard. Checks must be made payable to "PCSO Records Department".
  1. Case Reports
  2. Photographs
  3. Accident Reports
  4. Criminal Arrest History
  5. Dispatch Recordings
  6. Registered Sex Offenders
  7. Crime Statistics
  8. Records Research

Policies & Procedures


The PCSO Records Department has developed policies and procedures in compliance with Colorado state statutes regarding the release of reports, balancing public disclosure with the right to privacy. Release of case reports is dependent on a variety of circumstances, such as, but not limited to the
  • Type of report
  • Status of the investigation
  • Ages of the individuals involved in the report
Colorado state statutes prohibit the release of certain case reports or information relating to at-risk adults, juveniles, victims of crime, and on-going police investigations. Reports will be reviewed by appropriate personnel to determine if reports can be released. In some instances, the released report may have certain information redacted.

Reports Availability


Copies of case reports are generally available within three working days after the incident has been reported. To request a copy of a police report, please complete a Request for Report Copy. The fee for case reports is $7.00, plus $0.25 per page. These fees also apply to copies of jail documents. Completed forms can be faxed, mailed, or brought in to the Records Office. No reports will be released without a signed and completed request form and the appropriate fees paid.