Open Space & Trails Board of Trustees

The Open Space and Trails Board of Trustees is a policy/advisory board for Pitkin County. Five trustees are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners; each represents a commissioner district. Each trustee serves a five-year term without pay and may not hold any other county or municipal office or be employed by the county or a municipality. Board meetings generally begin at 9 a.m. on the first and third Thursday of each month. Quarterly meetings with the Board of County Commissioners typically begin at 11 a.m. on a Tuesday. Meetings generally last 3 to 5 hours. Contact Fran Soroka at 920-5223 for additional information.

Our Mission

The mission of the Open Space and Trails program is to acquire, preserve, maintain and manage open space properties for multiple purposes including, but not limited to, recreational, wildlife, agricultural, scenic and access purposes; and to acquire, preserve, develop, maintain and manage trails for similar purposes.


District 1:  Graeme Means
210 South Galena St., #23; Aspen, CO 81611
April 1, 2022 term expires

District 2:  Howie Mallory
1230 Snowbunny Lane; Aspen, CO 81611
April 1, 2019 term expires

District 3: Hawk Greenway
PO Box 12334; Aspen, CO 81612
April 1, 2018 term expires

District 4: Tim McFlynn
PO Box 10, Snowmass, CO 81654
April 1, 2020 term expires

District 5: Wayne Ives
0298 South Bill Creek Road, Carbondale, CO 81623
April 1, 2021 term expires

Trustee email contact

Contact Pitkin County Elections at 970-429-2709 to determine your Board of County Commissioners district.

Governing Documents

Article XIII of the Home Rule Charter
Adopted Policies