E-biking in Pitkin County

E-biking is permitted on paved and gravel roads/streets in Pitkin County where motorized uses are allowed. In addition, paved bike trails (and a few that are crushed gravel) are also open to Class 1 e-bikes.

E-bikes are not permitted on single-track trails within Pitkin County open space properties or in the White River National Forest.

Class 1 e-bikes are pedal-assist bikes (they must be pedaled in order to operate) and they have a top speed of 20 mph. They are permitted on:

  • Rio Grande Trail
  • Brush Creek Trail
  • Owl Creek Trail
  • East of Aspen Trail
  • AspenMass Trail
  • Jaffee Connector Trail
  • Basalt-Old Snowmass Trail

Singletrack trails where e-bikes are not permitted include:

  • Sky Mountain Park
  • Seven Star/Rim trails
  • Smuggler Mountain singletrack trails
  • Hunter Creek/Sunnyside trails
  • Government Trail
  • Tom Blake/Anaerobic Nightmare trails
  • Ski Area trails
  • Glassier Open Space

Use this interactive map to explore routes that are open to e-biking.